International Advisory Committee

The activities of the International Centre on Human Rights and Drug Policy are supported by our International Advisory Committee. Comprised of leading figures in various related fields, the Advisory Committee assists the Centre in encouraging new research on human rights and drug issues, acting as peer reviewers for Human Rights and Drugs and organising seminars and events at various universities around the world. The members of the International Advisory Committee are:

Judge Martin Vazquez Acuña – Court of Appeal on Criminal Matters, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Advisor to the Chief of Cabinet of Ministers on drugs and drug trafficking.

Dr Massimo Barra – Founder, Villa Maraini Foundation

Dr David Bewley-Taylor – School of Arts and Humanities, Swansea University

Prof Neil Boister - School of Law, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Mr Richard Elliott – Executive Director, Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

Mr Anand Grover – Indian Lawyers Collective; former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health

Prof Sofia Gruskin – Professor, Department of Preventive Medicine and Gould School of Law; Director, Program on Global Health and Human Rights, University of Southern California

Prof Roger Hood – CBE, Research Associate, formerly Professor of Criminology and Fellow of All Souls College, and former Director of the Centre for Criminological Research, All Souls College

Prof Paul Hunt – Human Rights Centre and School of Law, University of Essex; former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health (2002-2008)

Prof Ursula Kilkelly- Professor of Law, University College Cork

Prof Noam Lubell- Professor of Law, Human Rights Centre and School of Law, University of Essex

Prof Manfred Nowak – Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Human Rights, University of Vienna; former UN Special Rapporteur on Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, 2004-2010.

Prof Dainius Puras – UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health; Head and Associate Professor, Center of Child Psychiatry and Social Pediatrics, Vilnius University; Chair, Human Rights Monitoring Institute, Lithuania; Member of the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child, 2007-2011.

Ms Tracy Robinson – Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of West Indies; Commissioner on the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

Prof William A Schabas, OC – Professor of International Law, Middlesex University; Chairman, Irish Centre for Human Rights, National University of Ireland Galway

Ms Rebecca Schleifer – Visiting Fellow at Yale Global Health Justice Partnership; Former Advocacy Director, Health and Human Rights Division, Human Rights Watch

Baroness Vivien Stern – Senior Research Fellow, International Centre for Prison Studies, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex

Prof Gerry Stimson– Emeritus Professor, School of Public Health, Imperial College London

Prof Allyn Taylor – Visiting Professor of Law, Georgetown Law

Prof René Urueña – Director, International Law Department, Faculty of Law, Universidad de los Andes, Bogota, Colombia

Dr Philip Veerman – Psychologist at Bouman mental health services in Rotterdam and an independent expert of the (juvenile) courts in the Netherlands

Prof David S Weissbrodt – Regents Professor and Fredrikson & Byron Professor of Law, University of Minnesota

Prof Wu Zongxian– Director, Institute of Crime and Corrections of Beijing Normal University; Director, Research Center of Community Corrections College for Criminal Law Science of Beijing Normal University